Quantcast

YABC-Yet a Brew Controller: BrewManiacEx

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
Since updating, I've been having connection issues where I can't connect at all via my router or directly to the AP (192.168.4.1). The page times out. I started from scratch, erased flash and re uploaded the 0.49 bin file and now have another problem. I am presented with the below page but when I click update, I get a "errror:connection refused" message. I tried ticking the 'Fresh install:Format SPIFFS and download all" option but after it formats, I get the same error. I tried reflashing again but get almost the same page but there is nothing under 'HTML/Javescript version: 0'. I reset the esp8266 but now can't bring up this page at all. Am I missing a step?
1598056342444.png
 

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
Just got it working again using PlaformIO and the full interface is available but after resetting the esp8266, I can't connet to it any more. The blue led on the esp8266 is flashing roughly twice a second.
 

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
I have been writing blank bin files to the entire address space prior to flashing again. Keep running into issues. Brewflasher doesn't have an option for BrewmaniacEX
 

Bigdaddyale

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
1,384
Reaction score
283
Location
Rowland Heights
I have been writing blank bin files to the entire address space prior to flashing again. Keep running into issues. Brewflasher doesn't have an option for BrewmaniacEX
There are a couple of steps that you need to follow - All you need BF for is to completely erase the esp8266 and get rid of the old wifi stuff- then use your normal program to load the .bin files
 

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
Ok thanks for that. Much easier to wipe flash that way. Still no luck. I can access the gui after flashing via PlatformIO and after I configure the access point to connect to my router I can access it via the static IP. As soon as the esp8266 is reset one more time, it is no longer accessible with the blue LED flashing roughly twice a second.

This is what I see in the serial monitor:

ets Jan 8 2013,rst cause:2, boot mode:3,0)

load 0x4010f000, len 1392, room 16
tail 0
chksum 0xd0
csum 0xd0
v3d128e5c
~ld
 
Last edited:

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
Is there a bug in the firmware regarding WiFi?
I just reflashed via ESP8266Flasher.exe again and set a static IP in my router instead of the brewmaniacex gui and after that I selected update now under 'HTML/Javescript version' and it updated without any errors. It is also still working perfectly after 10 power cycles.
 

khannon

Guy who really knows where his towel is.
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
406
Reaction score
278
Location
Amherst
The esp8266 has 4M or 16M(pro version) of flash. Web server, db for loging and pages for UI. Hard time filling 256k???? Bet he's into a couple meg.
it's the libs that kill you. nothing is written anymore to conserve memory.. Sad that those of us who cut their teeth on 4-8(expensive)k of ROM get back into some of these boards and (I guess I'm grateful for those that do the low level $#!+ these days..) find that nothing is done without .5-2M of space, maybe we need to go back to 7bit bytes?
4-16M of space is a lot.. don't waste it..
(yeah, oldish guy here)
 

TypicalNerveCell

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Location
Norway
I'm about to start ordering parts for the pcb and I'm wondering about the phoenix contacts. Am I correct in assuming that any old phoenix contact with a 5.08mm pitch will work?
 

TypicalNerveCell

Active Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
2
Location
Norway
I am, thanks! Just noticed that you (seem) to be based in Sweden? You wouldn't happen to have any boards for sale?
 

RollE2k

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2017
Messages
62
Reaction score
25
I think i may have som v1.1 boards, i have to check tomorrow. Cannot remember what the changes was to 1.11 though. Probably som small error just. So long since i built my two boards.

you are also based in Sweden, if so i can probaby send you a board for a small fee. drop me a pm.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hi RollE2k

Thanks for the reply.

My LCD works fine. I am trying to see the effect of the buttons on the LCD.

I have a 4-button membrane setup. Plugging this into the headers and pressing buttons does not seem to cause anything to happen.

I have a PCF8574P soldered next to the D1, so there shouldnt be any issues there either...

I have enabled the ButtonViaPCF8574 flag and scanned the I2C addresses. I have then tried all the available addresses within that flag, but i have not been able to get the buttons working.

I have even shorted these headers directly to make sure the buttons are not defunct.

Any ideas?
H Ender2336,

Did you ever find a resolution to your buttons issue? I have the same problem and so I'm currently looking for a solution.
 

ZeSlammy

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
12
Hello. Has anyone rewired a Klarstein All in One using BrewManiac ?

It has basically 2 Heating Elements and a Pump.
I guess I should declare the 1800W as Sparge Heating and the 700W as the Heating and I'm good to go ?
I want to add a motorized paddler as well. I'm thinking about putting it together with the pump.
Do I have another option ?

1614267684020.png
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
H Ender2336,

Did you ever find a resolution to your buttons issue? I have the same problem and so I'm currently looking for a solution.
To close this, I did find the resolution. I used the wrong port PCF8574AP port expander, but replaced it with PCF8574N. Both were purchased as PCF8574P on AliExpress and EBay, but the actual versions were different. I believe the addressing between the circuits differ.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hello. Has anyone rewired a Klarstein All in One using BrewManiac ?

It has basically 2 Heating Elements and a Pump.
I guess I should declare the 1800W as Sparge Heating and the 700W as the Heating and I'm good to go ?
I want to add a motorized paddler as well. I'm thinking about putting it together with the pump.
Do I have another option ?

View attachment 719971
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I just finalized BrewManiac for my all-in-one system, and I have connected 2x 1250w elements in parallel. It was however just finalized, so I have not been able to test it yet. If you decide to do it, I have created an enclosure to be 3D-printed. You can find this here: BrewManiac Control Box by Geirn
 

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
I just finalized BrewManiac for my all-in-one system, and I have connected 2x 1250w elements in parallel. It was however just finalized, so I have not been able to test it yet. If you decide to do it, I have created an enclosure to be 3D-printed. You can find this here: BrewManiac Control Box by Geirn
Nice. Do you have photos of the wiring/connections under the boiler? Interested to see.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Nice. Do you have photos of the wiring/connections under the boiler? Interested to see.
Yes, I obviously replaced the very minimalistic all-in-one electronic board (with on-board PSU and relays) with a separate 12V PSU and 2 SSR relays, whereof the one to the heating elements is with heat sink. I fixed it all to the side of the base. I’m still connected to the physical pump switch, as I was thinking of being able to turn of the pump during mashing to stir, even in automatic mode. However, this might be possible from the controller too(?)
 

Attachments

Joined
Jan 20, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
@Singing Indurain (love that nickname) : It's a Klarstein then ? Looks promising for what I want to do :D
He-he, came to think about that name while I was exercising on my bike in the rain😉 I’t not a Klarstein, but I suppose they are not that different. This is a BB30 Automatic, that I believe was maybe just sold in Norway. I bought it with broken electronics for this purpose. You can see it here:
 

pbezza

Active Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2014
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Location
Baranduda
Yes, I obviously replaced the very minimalistic all-in-one electronic board (with on-board PSU and relays) with a separate 12V PSU and 2 SSR relays, whereof the one to the heating elements is with heat sink. I fixed it all to the side of the base. I’m still connected to the physical pump switch, as I was thinking of being able to turn of the pump during mashing to stir, even in automatic mode. However, this might be possible from the controller too(?)
Thanks for that. I still need convert my urn and was unsure how the SSR and pump would handle being so close to the underside of the elements. I will definitely print your electronics enclosure, cheers.
 
Top