Star san spray bottle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rhys333

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I just started using star san and I've been reading up on tips and tricks. Some folks just use a spray bottle to sanitize everything... no dunking/full submersion. It sounds convenient, but how effective is this? I have a hard time picturing how well this could work for bottles. Does anybody have experience with this? BTW I'm a newbie to homebrew.

I use Star San in a spray bottle for most of my sanitizing, but for bottles use a Star San solution in a vinator on top of my bottle tree. Spraying seems to work pretty good for me, but with bottles I'd consider either a quick dunk or the vinator.

meh, get a Vinator. Dunking sucks and do you really want to spray the inside of 40+ bottles by hand?

It will work though.

I use a spray bottle for most everything aside from fermenters and kegs. I just slosh around a half gallon or so of starsan for those.

I use Star San in a spray bottle for most of my sanitizing, but for bottles use a Star San solution in a vinator on top of my bottle tree. Spraying seems to work pretty good for me, but with bottles I'd consider either a quick dunk or the vinator.

Damn. Now I want to buy a vinator!

Thanks for confirming. I think I'll mix a 1 gal solution prior to brewing, fill the spray bottle and use it for the fermenter tub and equip, then reserve the rest for bottling day. I figure it should last me the two to three weeks using tap water. I understand it lasts indefinately using distilled water, but it seems to makes sense $-wise to use tap water and toss than paying for the distilled.