Newbie needs advice. Fermenting ended too early.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NEDJARRETT

Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing. My first batch was a light ale that turned out good. I am now on my second batch, but having fermenting issues.
This second batch is a Brewer's Best IPA kit. Two things I did differently this time were 1) instead of using the dry yeast that came with the kit, I used Wyeast liquid yeast #1272 "American Ale II", and 2) before pitching the yeast I oxygenated the wort with pure oxygen through a stone for 2 minutes.The next day, fermentation was furious. My airlock filled with foam, so I switched to a tube in a quart size bottle with water in the bottom. That later overflowed, so I switched the tube into a larger pitcher with water in the bottom. On the second day, fermentation slowed, so I switched back to a clean sanitized airlock. It was bubbling steadily, and all seemed fine. (I probably lost a half gallon of beer to overflow). Today, the third day, fermentation has stopped completely. Any ideas on what went wrong? And is this batch ruined? Fermenting in a basement closet at 70-72 degrees.
Thanks, Steve.

It sounds about right. Usually the most active period of fermentation is over in 2-3 days, especially if it's warm. The thing to do now is to just wait a week and then use your hydrometer to check and make sure it's done fermenting.

Thanks for bearing with me guys. I am new to this.
My original gravity was 1.055. I just took a reading (just under 3 days) and it is at 1.018.