Brewing with piloncillo

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mejiajav

Reaction score
I am brewing an English Brown Ale using piloncillo. I melted and dumped about two pounds into the last ten minutes of the boil.

My plan it's to scorch scourge pound to pound and a half and dump it into secondary.

Had anybody ever worked with piloncillo before? My question is if i should melt and then scorch the piloncillo for secondary, our just scorch it straight from its solid state.

I have used piloncillo a bunch, but I'm confused about what you mean by "scorch." Are you trying to caramelize it? I have never done that before, but if that's what you mean, I would recommend doing it at a controlled temperature and melted in a little water, not through direct heat.

Anyway, if it's a five gallon batch, I don't think I would use more than 2 pounds anyway. Using too much sugar will give you a pretty dry, thin beer for a given alcohol level. I don't think that would go well with an English brown.

I used piloncillo once before. I did about 6 oz. in a Kolsch and it dried it out just a bit and gave a slightly darker color. I had another batch of Kolsch without the piloncillo to compare side by side.

I don't know why you would use 2 lbs. of it though (and definitely not more than that), unless you are doing a 10 gal. or bigger batch. And I certainly don't know what you mean by scorching it. And the sentence, "My plan it's to scorch scourge pound to pound and a half and dump it into secondary" seems like it has been translated through several languages on google translate, so I have know idea at all what you were talking about there.