alcohol content

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dionustra

Reaction score
Hi All - Newbie here - very much appreciating all the knowledge in these threads. My question is about alcohol content. I did an ale that should have ended around 10%, but my hydrometer read only 6%. I'm wondering if I didn't let it ferment long enough? I did a week in a primary and another 2 weeks in a secondary. I was getting 3-4 bubbles per minute from the airlock at the end, but I was impatient to bottle, and now I'm worried that I didn't let it go long enough and that I'm going to have exploding bottles. Should I move these out to the garage just in case? Also possibly relevant is the fact that I fermented around 63 degrees F. Too cold for full fermentation? I've copied the recipe below, in case that helps. Thanks in advance for any help.

(from Clone Brews, p. 54)

14 oz German crystal malt
4 oz Belgian aromatic malt
3 oz Belgian Cara-Munich malt
2 oz Belgian biscuit malt

11 lb. M&F extra light DME
1 lb. M&F wheat DME
1/2 lb. Belgian clear candi sugar
1 oz Brewer's Gold @ 9.0 AA

1/4 oz Styrian Goldings
1 tsp Irish moss

Wyeast's 1388 Belgian strong ale yeast

bottled with 1 1/4 C M&F extra-light DME

What was your Orginal gravity versus final gravity reading? That is sure way to tell. If it was a 5 gallon batch it should have been around 1.108 and final should have been ~1.023. If the final was much higher than that you could end up with bottle bombs.

I must admit sheepishly that I forgot to take an OG reading. FG was 1.050, but I guess that doesn't help without an OG.... For what it's worth, FG was supposed to be 1.020-1.026.