Regulator (I think) makes noise

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewprint

Reaction score
Lately when I hook up the gas whether it's 10 or 30psi something has been making a loud hum/vibration. It sounds like it's coming from the regulator.

Does this happen to anyone else?

All the pressure seems to be fine. No extra loss of CO2. I've been kegging for 5 months or so and this just started happening recently.

I only get something similar, but not loud, now that I switched to my Taprite dual guage primary. I had a KegCo prior but changed over to Taprite for better longevity of the unit. The Taprite only makes a light gurgling kind of a sound when I first pressurize a keg with no CO2 in it or bleed and repressurize. I don't hear it when serving. I posted asking about it and it seems to be quite normal. I too have not had any CO2 loss at all, and all pressure is holding perfectly so I don't care about it anymore.

Rev.

Serving is no issue. It's just if a tank is empty and I give it a boost while cleaning to rinse a line. Last night I hooked it up to a new keg and it made the noise.

I do have a taprite regulator.

Also if I force carb a keg at say 30 psi and then turn the pressure all the way down to bring up to 10psi I hear a release of air. Then I know it's all the way turned down. I wonder if that's not good for the regulator?

Serving is no issue. It's just if a tank is empty and I give it a boost while cleaning to rinse a line. Last night I hooked it up to a new keg and it made the noise.

I do have a taprite regulator.

Also if I force carb a keg at say 30 psi and then turn the pressure all the way down to bring up to 10psi I hear a release of air. Then I know it's all the way turned down. I wonder if that's not good for the regulator?