Kegging Solutions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewcat

Reaction score
I'm just getting into kegging and have been acquiring equipment. But now I need some ideas/solutions to a few issues I'm trying to sort out.

#1 - While sourcing co2 I found 20 lb tanks are the minimum around here. Not necessarily a bad problem. I think it will be a great way to go, but originally I was planning for less. Now I'm going to have to drill some holes for two gas lines in the fridge (dual body taprite regulator):

• I know I need some sort of connection through the fridge instead of running line straight through. What am I looking for?
  • Any good ideas to secure a 20 lb tank? I'd rather not find out what tipping one would do.
  • Any extra support for the regulator necessary?

#2 - I have a bitter at its 3rd week of primary. What would you do? Let it ride another week or start carbing at room temp while getting the fridge setup.

This kegging is getting expensive and design intensive.

Maybe a moderator can move this to the DIY kegerator forum.

#1) You can either drill a hole and have the CO2 tank outside your fridge. Or you can put it int he fridge with the kegs. Either way, it wont affect the psi you set it too. Bit of adivce though, if you put it in the fridge the gas dial will drop and maybe even almost look empty. This is normal and due to the gas volume going down when cold. You cant rely on those gas level gauges when cold

If you have a 20lb tank, itll beheavy enough to support the rotational moment created by the regulator being hooked on. My 5lb tank can barely stand up (I lean it against something) and my 10lb tank sits solid