Is it silly to desire validation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shecky

Just an old guy
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for 2 years now and I've believed for the past year that my brews are at least decent, if not above average. My friends have always been complimentary and certainly keep me busy, but tonight I got the validation I've been hoping to get.

We had a couple we just met for dinner. I didn't know the dude from Adam so I bought some Sam, Coors Light and some Victory Prima Pils to cover some of the spectrum. I offered him my stout and winter ale to try.

He loved them. He even dragged his wife to the basement for the tour and explanations. The Sam, CL and Victory sat untouched. My theory is he would have politely asked for one of those three if he didn't like mine. Is it silly to need such validation? :confused:

On the plus side, he wants my help getting into brewing. :mug:

Some people just really go out of their way to seem agreeable. ;-) Just kidding. Most people are lame when it comes to beer appreciation so I can understand why you were smitten.

I've been brewing for 2 years now and I've believed for the past year that my brews are at least decent, if not above average. My friends have always been complimentary and certainly keep me busy, but tonight I got the validation I've been hoping to get.

We had a couple we just met for dinner. I didn't know the dude from Adam so I bought some Sam, Coors Light and some Victory Prima Pils to cover some of the spectrum. I offered him my stout and winter ale to try.