Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AngryTom

Reaction score
Hello,

Just joined Homebrew Talk and looking forward to being a part of the community! I'm also new to mead making and I think I've gotten myself into some trouble. The below photo is a traditional mead made with orange blossom honey and using Lalvin 71B yeast. It is two months old and it was racked once about six weeks ago. The creamy stuff on top started forming in the primary vessel soon after the yeast was pitched - probably about five or so days into the fermentation. It started off small and has grown. The honey I used is raw and it was not heated nor filtered by either me or the beekeeper. When it started forming, I found a few sources online that said it was probably wax and various other raw elements of the honey coming to the surface and that it was a good thing and showed I had high-quality honey. I also consulted a few local wine shops and was told it may be yeast and would probably flocculate and settle with time. I have only seen it expand and some additional research leads me to believe this is flowers of wine or mycoderma and the alcohol is likely being consumed by the yeast. I haven't seen the airlock bubble for some time, but there is space between the plastic cap and the venting tube, so there is definitely pressure inside the vessel. There are also bubbles coming out of the solution but very few, and as mentioned above, I believe this is alcohol being converted into CO2. However, it may also be CO2 escaping from solution as a result of the regular fermentation. When I shake the carboy, the creamy stuff dissolves into solution but reappears a few hours later. There is nothing growing underneath the surface. Also, a friend who is a bread maker smelled the airlock and said it sm