Airlock action?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rtsitler

Reaction score
How long should it be before I see some bubbles in my airlock?
This is my first attempt at making cider, have some mrbeer brews in my experience but this is done with other equipment.
I combined 2 gallons apple juice with 1 gallon of blackberry juice, 1 cup brown sugar and pitched Nottingham yeast and stirred a bit to aerate.
OG was 1.057
Hoping to get down to a FG of 1.011 or so.
Not too sure of tempature, it's in my bedroom closet, my house is comfortable....

Any other info I can provide, just let me know.

Sent from my iPad using Home Brew

What percentage of your bucket is headspace (vacant)? Is it airtight? These can affect airlock activity.

Two questions. Are there any preservatives - sorbate, for example , in either the apple juice or the blackberry? and if there are no chemical preservatives then how long ago did you pitch the yeast? There is a lag time between pitching and the yeast changing from reproducing to fermenting and that can take several days (assuming that you pitched dried yeast and not a liquid starter.
Your yeast will likely ferment the must dry - there are no non fermentables in the juice and Nottingham , I believe can handle the 7.5 percent potential alcohol. Assuming the issue is simply one of lag time and not the presence of preservatives, then you may want to be prepared to allow the cider to ferment dry and then stabilize the cider before back-sweetening it to the sweetness for which you are looking.

Bucket has about a gallon of headspace and no preservatives in any of my juice.
I pitched the yeast dry about 14 hors ago.
My bucket may not be air tight, if I find this to be the case I will brew my next batch in an new bucket.