120/240v DIY PID Controller Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kotamoore23

Reaction score
I am new to HomeBrewtalk but have been brewing for about 2 years now with a year of that on a 120v clawhammer system. I am about to upgrade my garage to have 240v outlet so of course I want to build a controller that can utilize the power. But I often take my brewing system to friends that that only have 120v outlets. So my question is it possible to build DIY a controller that can use both 120v or 240v? I am a newbie with wiring and the diy controllers so this is why I am asking the gurus. Things to note below
  • Already own 1650 watt element from clawhammer system
  • I will be purchasing a 5500 watt element once I have 240v in garage
  • Outlets with 120v are 20amp, serviced with 12 gauge wire. So should I go to 2000 watt 120v element?
  • I am thinking this is possible because the Spike Panel does this by simply changing the power cord. Would like to utilize this aspect.
  • Would need to run a 120v pump with the controller as well.
I have seen quite a few schematics on the site like this one from MoonJee88 post,

and I am wondering do I just simply upgrade from 14 AWG to 10 AWG so that it can handle 240v when needed? Any help would be appreciated, thanks in advance.

I have been a part of brew day that had a 5500 watt element, its the whole reason I am putting a 240 outlet in my garage. But as for the friends (that are definitely scrubs without their own brewing system) it is still a nice time to get together and drink a few beers that we brewed. Hence the reason I want this dual option controller.

Why not make a dedicated 240v and keep the clawhammer as a portable option and just swap out the element?