SSBrewTech - SVBS

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
in terms of cleaning before first time use, the ss website says to wash using TSP. I've never used it before but ordered the powdered kind from Amazon. Is there anything about TSP I should be aware of before using? Is it just a stronger form of Star San?

in terms of cleaning before first time use, the ss website says to wash using TSP. I've never used it before but ordered the powdered kind from Amazon. Is there anything about TSP I should be aware of before using? Is it just a stronger form of Star San?
TSP is VERY caustic. It can cause skin burns when diluted in high concentrations. I've used it a lot for cleaning things. Starsan is low pH (acid) TSP is high pH (alkaline).

As a strong alkali, TSP removes oils by turning them to soap. Literally - it's called saponification. Real soap is made the same way, but with Sodium Hydroxide (lye) as the strong alkali. After saponification, the oil becomes miscible in water and you can rinse it away.

Home depot carries powdered in paint dept, depending on your state - I think Calif carries some weak version of it without the phosphates. Even though I have it in the garage, I did not bother cleaning that way. I just did a test run with some water, drained that, and got to brewing. I'm still alive to tell the tale.

also does anyone know if a steam condenser lid exists for this? my searches suggest not but you'd know more than me.
I bought the steam slayer from brew hardware, I cut a hole and did a weldless TC port. I just keep it capped when I'm not using it. I brew in my Houston garage and it was worth every penny to have that, especially in the summer. My boil off rate was about the same when I was at 75% power with an open lid with my new set point at 50%.