Looking for simple and affordable DIY RIMS

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shred

Former Microbrewery Founder & Pro Brewer
Reaction score
I've been searching the forums (and Google) looking for the most affordable way to build a RIMS system. I'm moderately handy, but I'm not an engineer. Anyone have links to an easy build out there?

I'm not totally sold on RIMS. I've just researched it more than HERMS. $50 sure sounds attractive though and I could probably do it a lot cheaper since I already have a 1/2" x 50' immersion chiller and 5 gallon stock pots!

If you are not stuck on rims i would highly recommend my 50$ HERMS system in my signature.

Looks like your system is near flawless and the added benefit of having a free sous vide is nice too.

I have a 1/2" x 50' immersion chiller and several spare pots ranging from 8 qt to 7.5 gallon. I sounds like your thinking was "less is more" as the lower volume of water is easier to temp control.

I also have (probably) about 10-12' of spare 3/8" copper tubing from my original, smaller wort chiller. Do you think that coupled with my cheap 108GPH food safe water pump (like this one http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/160963311155?lpid=82) would do the job?

I also have (probably) about 10-12' of spare 3/8" copper tubing from my original, smaller wort chiller. Do you think that coupled with my cheap 108GPH food safe water pump (like this one http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/160963311155?lpid=82) would do the job?

yea it would work great, you could even get the coil smaller and use even less water in the herms pot.