New K-RIMS System question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

astropixel

Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm new to all-grain brewing, but already caught the electric bug. I've got a a 3-vessel system consisting of a 10 gallon Megapot, a 15 gallon SS Brewtech pot, a 10G Igloo Mash Tun and 1 pump, curently using propane burners.

I settled on a 2-vessel K-RIMS setup with only the boil kettle heated, so I need advise on 2 issues.
Oh, I plan to brew 6-7 gallon batches and maybe a 10 gallon batch, who knows.

1) Which pot should I put the 5,500W heating element in and which pot gets the Blichmann Autosparge? I've got a 1.5" TC weldless bulkhead for the heating element and just need to position the hole for the Autosparge.

2) To accommodate a typical 5-7 gallon batch and occasional a 10 gallon batch, where should I mount the Autosparge? The 10G pot is 14" and the 15G kettle is ~15 5/8" in diameter. It looks like I'd need to use the 15G pot to use the 9" extended arm with the Autosparge, but I have no idea if that would be the right thing to do in my case.

Cheers

If you have to use what you have, and you want 10g batches, you really have no choice. The 15 has to be the boil kettle because you can't boil a 10 gallon batch in a 10G pot.

The 10 will be the mash tun with the autosparge mounted at the top.

With only one pump, you'll have to use gravity from the mash tun to the boil kettle.

It's obviously open to debate and people have their varying opinions, but if you're doing 6/7 gallon batches there is very little reason to K-RIMS when you can put a false bottom and bag directly into the 15 gallon boil kettle.