Yeast Starter Time Crunch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sco999

Reaction score
Hello Fellow Brewers,
I just started using liquid yeast and starters on my last batch, so I am new to starters.

I am going to be brewing 11.5 gallons of my Centennial Rye IPA (1.064 OG) on Saturday night. My plan was to make a 4 quart starter this afternoon (thurs) with 2 smack packs of Wyeast 1450 crash cool the starter Friday night then decant before I pitch. Problem is my yeast wont be here until tomorrow afternoon (fri) and I really need to decant this starter before pitching. Is it possible to decant without crash cooling. I was really excited about trying this yeast, and don't really want to delay my brew date. Does anyone have any suggestions for my situation?

One more question.
I have the option of getting a yeast dump from the local brew pub's conical he uses wyeast 1056. Any idea how much volume I would need without needing a starter?

Thanks

In my experience with starters, that time frame will not be enough time to build up your yeast to the amount you need. Especially for an 11.5 gallon batch. Give your yeasties some time! According to the calculator linked below, you'll need 3L of starter (made with a stir plate). I don't know about you, but it takes me some time to build up that much!

Also, why do you HAVE to decant it? I'm curious.

And lastly, head over to Mr. Malty Pitching Rate Calculator for your last question. Select the "pitching from slurry" option.

You could get away with not decanting on an IPA. I always decant, but it's only gonna cause problem on a light beer (i.e., light lager, cream ale, etc).