Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MaxTheSpy

Reaction score
I would like some insight from those smarter than me, I've been using Redstar Premier Blanc for the last 4-5 years using other yeasts very rarely. I decided to actually look up the specs on Premier Blanc and this is what I found:

Species: Wine
Fermentation Temp Range (°F) : 59-86
Apparent Attenuation Range (%) : n/a
Flocculation: Medium-Low
Alcohol Tolerance: 13-15%

My question is with its 13-15% tolerance, How have I been getting 18-23% consistently over the last few years? Does it have to do with using honey instead of grapes?

Hmmm. That's my sole mead/ fruit wine yeast varietal as well. I'm sure I read the specs when I 1st tried it, but since it has performed well, I haven't bothered trying anything else.
My guess as to the answer to your question is some combination of simple sugars in honey vs what's in grape must AND the yeast never read their specs so they didn't know they were supposed to quit.

Maybe it's related to pH. Googling it, it appears grape juice has a pretty low pH--lower than honey does--and fermentation will cause that pH to decrease even further. If the specs for the yeast are centered on grape juice as the target must, as you might expect for the primary market of that yeast, then....

AND the yeast never read their specs so they didn't know they were supposed to quit.