Wyeast 1968 - jumping globs of yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Reizoko

Reaction score
Noob here. I'm brewing an ESB. It's my 7th batch overall and first using Wyeast 1968. It's a full boil extract recipe w/ OG of 1.059. Pitched a starter @ 70 degrees and have kept the temp constant. I had visible activity w/in 4 hours, and within 4 days was down to 1.013 -77% attenuation. So now I'm 7 days in, and am still seeing some activity at the bottom of the carboy that looks like small globs breaking off the cake and rising about 3-4 inches before falling back down. It looks like the link below, only at about 20% intensity:
Jumping Yeast - YouTube

What am I looking at? Is it still chugging along? Do I wait for all visible activity to stop before the recommended diacetyl rest?

What about dry hopping? I'd like to do it in primary then cold crash before bottling - any reason I should reconsider that plan? Should I hold off on dry hopping until the yeast stops jumping?

Thought and advice appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool lava lamp.

I've had something like this happen before. It looks like the yeast is still active. The English yeasts are a bit chunky and thick at the bottom.

So if the beer is already at 70F why are you planning to do a diacetyl rest? Something like that would be needed if you were fermenting at low temperatures to minimize ester production and then wanted to let it warm up later so the yeast could finish cleaning up while still getting low/controlled yeast character.

If you want to dry hop, you're better off with waiting until the activity stops. Otherwise you risk blowing out hop aroma along with the CO2.