Why doesn’t everyone BIAB?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bendog15

Reaction score
It seems to me a logical question. I’ve been doing 10 gal all-grain batches for about 6-7 years. Propane fired keggle, mashing in a Rubbermaid cooler. After too many stuck sparges I switched to the brew bag just in the mash tun. Loved it so much I’m gonna upgrade to a 20 gal kettle so I can single vessel BIAB and cut down on the brew day.
In my opinion, we’re just making wort. It’s not too hard. The yeast does all the heavy lifting. I don’t know many other people who homebrew. I understand that boys love their toys, and the shiny 3 vessel systems with all the pumps and hoses seems intriguing, but doesn’t that produce the same wort with much more dishes to do? Tell me if I’m wrong.

I got the impression that for some, building their brewing systems is a hobby within a hobby, and coming up with clever ideas for lautering equipment or tweaking for that extra percent efficiency is fun for them.

I sure hope so, because for me it isn't. After mostly BIAB, I did my first mash tun/batch sparge brew in over a year last weekend (too much grain in that recipe for my little bag), and I remembered again why I hated that part so much... I'm going to get a bigger brew bag now, maybe a stainless malt pipe if I can find one.

I am one of the lucky ones i brewed 2 extract batches for a start in home brewing, then went straight to a 10 gallon kettle and all grain brew in a bag method and making 6 gallon batches of fine beer. I look at the pictures on some of the 3 tier systems mash tuns and pumps and hoses and think biab is quicker and easier.