BIAB Lemon Lime Hefeweizen (First Time Need Help)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kornssj

Reaction score
Ladies and Gents,

Hope you are all having a fine new year. Although its still early I have a good feeling about this year! Although yesterday I did run out of my homebrew (Pale Ale using DME). This brings me to my next batch and wanting to make a Hefeweizen for a while now since its among my favorite style of beer. See below for the Recipe I'm following from BeerSmith and also the recipe file if you happen to have the program.

Screenshot 2024-01-04 081030.png

This is my first time attempting to make a Hefe and my second time attempting a BIAB (after like 7 years). I do have a bunch of questions about this recipe and also the process. Ive organized them as best as I can below. REALLY appreciate your help! I'm looking to make this beer a favorite among family and friends.

1. I'm looking to make a 5 GAL batch, can I just take everything here and split in half? I tried running through on BeerSmith and everything seems within range except for the IBU is at 9.1. I don't think the program takes the Lime Zest into account, so I'm expecting the IBU to be kicked up a bit when I add that in along with the Simply Limeade.

2. Since I'm a bit new to BIAB could someone verify the following process:
a. Start with full boil volume, I think the program stated to start with 8.3GAL of water or something like that. Program is pretty good at figuring out grain absorption right?
b. Does not look like I have any Steep Grains, but the recipe calls for Vienna Malt which is typically a specialty steep grain. Should I ignore my past experience and Mash the 3 Malts into my kettle for the period it calls for?