What should I brew next?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian_James

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new to homebrewing. I have only brewed two extract beers and a couple of experimental wild sodas, ginger beers, and ciders. I'm interested in brewing some more proper beers (I only have the equipment to brew extract recipes for the time being), and I'd love some suggestions for easy, rewarding extract beers. My first two brews were an english porter and an oatmeal stout respectively. They both turned out pretty good, I think.

Let me know what you recommend! I'm thinking about doing an amber ale next... not a huge fan of light beers.

The good news is that darker beers are the best ones to start with! What to do next depends mostly on what you enjoy drinking, but I'd recommend an American stout, a hoppy one. Or if you want to head (slowly) towards lighter styles, an American Strong Ale. That will be more fun than an amber, and less like what you can find commercially.

Edit: if you want to stick to British styles, a strong Scottish ale or an ESB, maybe?

Last edited:
I think you should just decide what you think you want to drink. I would still try to keep it simple for a time. Not too many ingredients and not a lot of special adjuncts and such that sometimes come with the darker stouts.

Look at some of the ingredient kits that are available for various beers. If you understand their names you can figure out which are a clone of commercial beers you might already enjoy.