...Too Soon?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SkaBoneBenny

Reaction score
So I brewed my Double IPA recipe last thursday and vigorous fermentation began late that night. I had prepared a yeast starter. I'm currently brewing my Kolsch as we speak and I had intended to switch my Double IPA over to secondary. However, I just took at reading and it's at 1.032. OG was 1.078. I don't know the exact FG but it sure isn't in the 1.030's. Is it too soon to move it over to secondary? Bubbling fermentation more or less appeared to stop Christams Eve or so. I've never done a high alcohol beer before. I'm just worried that a. It could be a stuck fermentation or b. it's just too soon to move it to secondary. Temperatures have been remarkable constant at 69-70 degrees. Any thoughts? I have two of each fermenters so it's not a space problem. I still have lots of dry hopping to do and I want to make sure I don't start the secondary/dry hopping too soon.
-Ben

Rousing the yeast while transferring to secondary may help out on the attenuation front. I thought my fairly big (1.070) was done because it stoppe bubbling, but after racking into the carboy it fired up again and bubbled for another 2 weeks.

I wouldn't move it just yet. The yeast attentuation is a little short. Try twisting the carboy several times to rouse some of the yeast into suspension and see if it starts fementing again.

Thanks guys. I went with the twisting approach. I'm going to see how it's doing in 3 more days or so. By then I suppose I should know if I have a problem on my hands. Thanks again!
-Ben

too soon imo... it's only been going for about five days, i'd give it 10 to 15 days in primary.

also what yeast did you use?