Too Dark?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sudz

Reaction score
I've been brewing for several years and have hit my numbers on the vast majority of my efforts. All the beer has been good and follows the comments for the recipe as described by others except for color. I've noticed virtually all of my brews have been darker than expected or darker than what the recipe defines. I assumed this was just a variable from the grains I use but I can't help but think there may be something else going on.

I don't believe it's from my boil since I do not find scorch marks or other indications suggesting a browning of the wort. And there's never been any hint of burnt wort in the taste.

Other than the grain, what else would cause this?

Check your mash pH. My lighter-colored beer was coming out darker than expected until I brought the pH down to where it should be.

Recipes? Examples? Pictures?

I hear you however, this is a longterm observation which is in my notes for the majority of beers I've brewed. No pictures unfortunately.

The recipes are across the board and most notably darker. The only exceptions have been my Centennial Blondes, Wheats, and of course my really dark brews which color is basically dark by design. However, my Ambers, Irish Reds, Altbiers, California Commons, and other brews of color are consistently too dark when compared to color charts and experience with commercial beers.

This isn't a big deal since the beers taste as they should. Strictly a cosmetic thing and a point of curiosity. It simply bugs me not knowing why?

Check your mash pH. My lighter-colored beer was coming out darker than expected until I brought the pH down to where it should be.