Time in Pirimary before Secondary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimjube

Reaction score
I was thinking of setting up a cycle of sorts. I know times will be different depending on the beer I am making, but as a beginner I am not getting fancy yet. Does this sound about right to anyone: Two weeks in Primary, Two weeks in Secondary, Two weeks in bottles? Any suggestions.

Primary - 6 gallon carboy with airlock and headspace
Secondary - 5 gallon carboy with airlock and no headspace

Thanks

Ales, porters, stouts, or anything using ale yeast: 2-4 weeks in primary minimum, NO secondary, 3+ weeks at 70F to bottle carbonate.

Big beers, old ales, barley wine's, etc.: 4+ weeks in primary, rack only for flavor elements you want to get off of before adding new ones, or for EXTENDED aging (several months)... 3+ weeks at 70F for bottle carbonating.

This is actually plastered all over the place here... A great many of us are not using secondary vessels (or bright tanks) for the majority of what we're brewing. IF you're actually going to initiate a second fermentation cycle and NEED to get the wort off the original yeast, fine. But, you don't need to rack just to get the brew to clear. It will clear up just fine, and just as fast, in primary, on the yeast. There are plenty of benefits to leaving the brew ON the yeast cake in fact...

yes thank you. using an ale yeast, finding lots of opinions on this forum. I am making a hoppy bitter. perhaps I will not use the secondary, the main reason I want to use the secondary (5 gallon) carboy is so that I may free up my primary (6 gallon) carboy to get started on another batch.

Apart from the work involved, I don't imagine it will hurt the beer to rack it into the secondary fermentor.

jimjube said: