Rookie Star San Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RallyintheValley

Reaction score
Ok, this is as basic a question as it gets, but I really haven't seen this explained anywhere yet.

When using Star San to sanitize bottles, is it ok to use your bare hands to immerse the bottles in the solution? I will be using a five-gallon bucket and plan on dipping bottles in 2 at a time, then transferring to drain upside down on my sanitized dishwasher racks. Also can you use the same solution for all 50 bottles? Would dipping my hands in 25 times going to ruin the solution?
Would it be easier to spray the star san directly into the bottle?

I'm brand new at this, and used bleach for my first batch, but it was a headache because I'm dealing with limited space.

Thanks!

It won't ruin the StarSan, tha'ts how I do it. I think it get in there much mo thoroughly than spraying, though lots of people have success with that way too.

However, my hands dry out pretty bad for the next few days. They get flaky and like there's dandruff. It won't harm your hands, but it's kinda wierd.

But, that's the price we pay for beer!

agreed - won't hurt the star san, it will sanitize your hands. Probably not the best thing, according to the label, but I do it too. If your skin is sensitive, you can find some latex-type gloves...

I use a spray bottle for what I can, but I dunk lot's of stuff. I usually take one of my ice-chests and fill it with water, and make a "sanitary dunking tank" for all the tubing, parts, counterflow chiller, etc...

Thanks for all the quick responses

I think I may go with the vinator with Star San, since it seems like it will save me time and money in the long run.