Maple wine, time to rack?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bourniplus

Reaction score
Hey guys, first post here,
I just got back into homebrewing after a 10-year break and am glad I found this forum.

I started a ~5gallon batch of maple wine using boiled sap three weeks ago. OG was 1,090, it is now at 1,016. I'm not shooting for dry or sweet, I guess I'd like it somewhere in between, actually as it's a first-time experiment I'd just like it to be drinkable and not give headaches.

So, OG:1,090 , three weeks later: 1,016, the airlock is popping once every 8 seconds, what do you all think? Time to rack to secondary or wait some more?

Yeast used is Lalvin EC-1118, two packs.

Thanks in advance!
Martin in Quebec

I'm no expert but I usually leave it till fermenting stops before I rack to secondary.

Keep in mind I'm still a newbee

Can you post recipe and how you put it together

Hey guys, first post here,
I just got back into homebrewing after a 10-year break and am glad I found this forum.

I started a ~5gallon batch of maple wine using boiled sap three weeks ago. OG was 1,090, it is now at 1,016. I'm not shooting for dry or sweet, I guess I'd like it somewhere in between, actually as it's a first-time experiment I'd just like it to be drinkable and not give headaches.

So, OG:1,090 , three weeks later: 1,016, the airlock is popping once every 8 seconds, what do you all think? Time to rack to secondary or wait some more?

Yeast used is Lalvin EC-1118, two packs.

Thanks in advance!
Martin in Quebec