LME vs DME

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Oh my! Are you ever asking a loaded question (some very heated opinions on the subject). I won't answer it directly, but I would always suggest trying the experiment and make your own decision. Just remember that you will use less DME than you would LME. Reduce by approximately 15-18%.

Recently my extract recipes have been DME, not so much for the twang but for the color and consistency. The down side is 7 lbs of DME is a pain in the ass to mix in.

I prefer DME for several reasons.

1. As a small business owner, I like to give my money to my LHBS. They don't get LME in bulk for rapid turnover. DME stays fresher longer. So I buy DME from my LHBS.

2. DME is far easier to portion out. If I find I need 2 lbs 4 oz of extract, it's a PITA to measure out that quantity of LME. It's a breeze with DME.

That's about it, really.

Cheers,

Bob

I like to use both. Just started using the DME in a 25 min boil for some hop additions,LME can at the end. OG is a little higher this time,but still within my typical range. Imo,good flavor/aroma combinations can be had from using both. Not to mention,colors.

1. As a small business owner, I like to give my money to my LHBS. They don't get LME in bulk for rapid turnover. DME stays fresher longer. So I buy DME from my LHBS.

2. DME is far easier to portion out. If I find I need 2 lbs 4 oz of extract, it's a PITA to measure out that quantity of LME. It's a breeze with DME.

That's about it, really.

Cheers,

Bob

In addition, it's easier to save any leftover DME by closing it airtight with a twisty tie and then in a ziploc bag and storing it in a cool dry place. I use it for starters, so a 3 pound bag will last me quite a long time.

That's about it, really.

Cheers,

Bob