Just made a new MLT, questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mc_eric

Reaction score
This weekend, I put together an MLT from one of those round 10 gal home depot coolers and a SS braid. I just followed all the directions in the wiki (https://www.homebrewtalk.com/wiki/index.php/Converting_a_cooler_to_a_mash_tun, the last design at the bottom of the page), all of the parts are exactly the same. I filled it up w/ water and everything is tight and leak free.

I've been brewing all grain for a couple years, doing a kind of BIAB method, but I've never actually used an MLT before. I know there are a bunch of people on here that use ones exactly like mine, so here are my questions:

1) From searching around on HBT, it seems like I shouldn't have to worry about the braid collapsing right? The thing doesn't seem particularly sturdy, though it is definitely stainless. It doesn't have any internal support, but it would be easy enough to add some if I have to. How much grain can I use with it like this? Can I just fill the thing up to the brim? The nice thing about the BIAB technique is that there's no such thing as a stuck sparge.

2) When I mash, I always add water to grain. The only time I put the water in first I wound up overshooting my mash temp (beer turned out great though). However, it seems like it might be kind of hard to stir the mash with the braid in there if I put the grain in first. How do you guys do it? Water first or grain first?