Infected Beer in Conical Fermenter

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BullGator

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for around 8 years and finally had my first infected batch. My question here is what to do with my conical fermenter that the infected beer is currently sitting in. I can address everything else rather simply. My concern is what about the valves. There are two valves on this conical that are rather pricey. I am not 100% sure, but isn't there a piece of plastic in the simple ball valves? Would anyone be concerned about that? Not sure if it matters but the conical is a Stout conical with all of their fittings. I have the simple ball valves (not the 3 piece).

Someone recommended brewing a simple batch and seeing if it gets infected as well. I'd rather not waste a day if I can just address the issue. I'd rather replace the values than do that.

I've been brewing for around 8 years and finally had my first infected batch. My question here is what to do with my conical fermenter that the infected beer is currently sitting in. I can address everything else rather simply. My concern is what about the valves. There are two valves on this conical that are rather pricey. I am not 100% sure, but isn't there a piece of plastic in the simple ball valves? Would anyone be concerned about that? Not sure if it matters but the conical is a Stout conical with all of their fittings. I have the simple ball valves (not the 3 piece).

Someone recommended brewing a simple batch and seeing if it gets infected as well. I'd rather not waste a day if I can just address the issue. I'd rather replace the values than do that.