Importance of temperature control on brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azazel1024

Reaction score
I am rather new to brewing. I've read a lot of posts (basically every one) with people talking about controlling the temperature and mostly brewing in the high 60's with various different strains of ale yeasts.

So far I have 3 brews that have gotten to the bottle and 2 more fermenting (one done and aging, one finishing primary).

Just how important is temperature control, or is this very much a yeast strain specific thing?

My basement in the heat of the summer typically runs to about 72-73F (or what the temp on my fermenting bucket says, sitting on the bare concrete). In the winter it is probably more like 65F or a couple cooler (I'll find out this winter, air temp is 66-67F in the basement in the winter).

My very first batch was a pale ale that was okay at first, but the last few bottles taste a little off (it was decent after 2 weeks of aging, seemed to peak at about 5 weeks and a couple of bottles have tasted off now that it is about 2 months since bottling). I did a lot of things wrong with the first brew.

My second brew has been tasting awesome. Brew kit like the first, Red ale that I dry hopped and added chicory to the secondary and gave it a few extra days in primary and secondary.

My Third brew I came up with the recipe. Extract, Caramel Oak Porter. Best brew yet and better than most porters I have ever had (IMHO) and I got great reviews at my local brew club on it (people liked the Chicory Red and loved the Porter).