Haze dropping after a few weeks

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AcreBrewer

Reaction score
I have been making NEIPA's for a couple years. I've got pretty good at the overall making of it. They usually come out hazy, juicy pretty close to the style. But they all seemingly begin loosing the haze after a 2-3 weeks? They still taste good but the haze just drops. Does anyone have an idea as to why? Maybe I am doing some part of the NEIPA brewing technique(s) wrong? I usually have wheat malt, flaked wheat & oats as part of the grist. I do water treatment for a 1-3 sulfate / calcium chloride ratio. Whirlpool hops, active primary hops 3 days into fermentation and another dry hop too. Any help would be great! Cheers!

I use 6.3% of each white wheat, flaked wheat and flaked oats. I use GY054. The last few times I've skipped the hopping during fermentation. I dont have my water profile atm but 1-3 seems good.

@Dgallo brews these mostly if I remember right. He may have some more detailed info.

Thanks for your insight. What about the haze in your beers? Does it last till the end of the keg?

There are a few guys on here that swear you can create stable haze with zero flaked adjuncts. I haven't gone that route yet but am looking forward to trying it at some point.