Fermentation Issues - Not sure what else to change?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hopsauce

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been brewing for a few years and I've been trying to step up my knowledge and the quality of brews. I've had a couple of repeat fails brewing IPAs.

I've brewed some reasonable other beers but my last 2x IPAs have had fermentation issues (as confirmed by a BJCP judge and my average palate). They have a 'wort' like flavour and taste too sweet - The issue is, I don't know what to improve?

The parts that I think are key to my process are:
- 5G BIAB Mash in a keggle, last one was 1.066 OG.
- Add Whitelabs yeast nutrient with 10 mins remaining
- Aerate with O2
- Pitch US05 (14g packet from home brew shop - not 11.5g)
- Temp control using brewpi in fridge, ferment in glass carboy.
- 19 degrees C (66F) ramping to 22 C (72F) after 4 or 5 days. Leave for 2 1/2 weeks
- Cold crash to 1 C (34F).
- Auto siphon transfer to keg (after displacing starsan)
- FG on the last one was 1.013 I believe (need to confirm).

Both recipes had no crystal.

The issue I have is, i'm not clear what I can improve in my process - Any thoughts?

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated. Please let me know if you need more info.

Hi,

I've been brewing for a few years and I've been trying to step up my knowledge and the quality of brews. I've had a couple of repeat fails brewing IPAs.

I've brewed some reasonable other beers but my last 2x IPAs have had fermentation issues (as confirmed by a BJCP judge and my average palate). They have a 'wort' like flavour and taste too sweet - The issue is, I don't know what to improve?

The parts that I think are key to my process are:
- 5G BIAB Mash in a keggle, last one was 1.066 OG.