easy question about increasing specific gravity with DME

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ekjohns

Reaction score
I brewed the blondshell blonde all grain today and had a HORRIBLE! efficiency. My target was 1.046 and I got 1.030. I would like to bring it up to the target SG using some light DME. Right now I have 5.5 gal and would like to limit the amount of water put in so I would like to only add 1/2 gal of water to give me a final volume of 6 gal. I am not very good with specific gravity could someone please tell me how much LDME I need to add to get the gravity to 1.046?

my calculations give me 2.13lbs?
( # lbs DME x 45 points) / 6 gallons = 16

Do you agree?

The math isn't too bad (and I am sure someone can correct me if I make a mistake here).

Your final volume will be 5.5 + 0.5 = 6 gal, and you are shooting for 1.046 gravity points. So, the total extract points will be 46 x 6 = 276.

Your brew is already contributing 5.5 gals @ 1.030, so that is 30 x 5.5 = 165.

You need to make up 276 - 165 = 111 points.

DME yields about 41 points per pound per gallon, so 111/41 = 2.7 lbs.

That's a lot to dissolve in a half gallon of water, but heating it should help a bit.

:mug:

i plan to do a small 30 min boil just to kill some bac. and help dissolve and all that good stuff. I will add 2.5 lbs of Light DME just to make it easy

i plan to do a small 30 min boil just to kill some bac. and help dissolve and all that good stuff

You definitely don't have to do a 30 minute boil. You don't have to boil at all, actually, but a couple of minutes at boiling will definitely sanitize it. When I make starters, or use DME in other ways, I usually boil for only about 5 minutes or less. Then, cool it down and use it.