Cutting new rhizomes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benda86

Reaction score
Hey!

I have second year centennial and williamette..

Since I am very new at this, I hope that you guys can help me. Base on your knowledge..

Can I cut new rhizome, in principle, year round?? The centennial is blooming right now, and my friend want a rhizome...

Pros/con's??

Thanks!!

define blooming. Do you mean sprouting up for growth? If so you should have no problem cutting one rhizome off. I wait until they are two years od before harvesting mine. One should be fine though. It is best to do the cutting in the spring so it encourages new growth. Hope it helped.

No you will be fine taking a few. I missed that they were second year. Just don't rape them of all the rhizomes this year. How did they grow in the containers? They look like 3 gallon in the pics.

The containers are 25 Liters (6.6 gallons). I have planted them in the spring of last year, and they have grown to about 5 meters (19 feet). The centennial gave about 1.78 oz, because the summer sun here kicked his a** off... Maybe next year i'll move them into a bigger containers..

That's great. I always see members asking about containers. I am sure you hit them with fertilizer each Year? If they did well you might just want to trim a little more off to free up the container for new root growth. Where ary you? I see you are on the metric system.

So you have them in containers... i have 2 years old plants too, in the ground, and i harvested a lot of rizomes for them. Go ahead and dig yours but take care not to damage all the rhisomes so you don't lose a good start.