Cherry Kolsch help.. plz

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doulovebeef

Reaction score
This is my first time using any kind of fruit in a beer, and since the girlfriend requested something that she could drink this is what i have came up with, its based on Edworts Bee Cave Brewery Kolsch recipe. I want to add a 49oz can of Oregon Fruit Puree to the brew but im not really sure when. i was thinking after 5 days i could add the puree and gently stir to rouse the yeast and incorporate everything. when my hydrometer reads the same for three days ill rack to secondary to clear. Could i cold crash this without messing up the flavor? should i add pectin since im adding fruit? most of my beers that i cold crash i usually add unflavored gelatin, should i omit it in this recipe? thanks for any and all help!

7# 2 row Pils Malt
2.5 # Wheat Malt
mash @ 151 / 60 minutes
Wyeast 2565 kolsch
1 oz Perle 7.8% AA for 60 minutes
1/2 oz. Tettnanger 4.4% AA for 15 min.
1/2 oz. Tettnanger 4.4% AA for 5 min.
49oz Oregon Cherry Puree

I don't make much fruit beer either but last time I did I added the fruit (Oregon Raspberry puree) to a secondary* after 10 days or so and racked the beer from the primary on top. Fermented out pretty dry but the fruit flavor was great.

*I never secondary except when I'm expecting ACTUAL secondary fermentation

does the pectin in the puree cause any haze? i mean, i dont really care how it looks, but i do like the bragging rights for a nice clear beer. even if im not the one drinking it lol

since Kolsch yeast is needed to make Kolsch taste right, and you're going to mask the flavor with cherries, I would aim for a blonde ale instead.

fruit in secondary. the pectin could cause haze. pectic enzyme should help.