candi sugar and sours

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sleepyemt

Reaction score
anyone have any experience with this? Do the Candi sugars show through in the final product? appreciate any help... I'm fairly new to sours, I assume the do since I've seen recipes that call for it, but I'm not sure how much of the final flavor is left....
thanks!:mug:

Certainly the darker ones do. I’ve got a De Dolle Oerbier Reserva – inspired beer aging now, and a dark saison, with D180 and D90 respectively. Added in the boil in both cases, but you could save it for later if you wanted.

I generally don’t add any clear/pure sugars to sours. There isn’t anything wrong with it, sours just don’t tend to need help reaching high attenuation.

I generally don’t add any clear/pure sugars to sours. There isn’t anything wrong with it, sours just don’t tend to need help reaching high attenuation.

Awesome, thanks!

I was actually thinking of priming with D90 or D180 for some added complexity, Thoughts?
Thanks! Looking forward to your book coming out btw!

Awesome, thanks!

I was actually thinking of priming with D90 or D180 for some added complexity, Thoughts?
Thanks! Looking forward to your book coming out btw!

My opinion is that priming sugar is for carbonation, not flavoring. I’d rather use a pure sugar that I knew would give me the exact carbonation, rather than risk using something else. I’d rather add candi sugar, honey, fruit juice, maple syrup etc. in secondary, let it ferment out, then prime with table sugar.

Cheers! Looks like mid-June at the moment for release.