Can i use DME instead of sugar to brew?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colm98

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I am fairly new to home brewing. The last 3 batches I made were all Coopers kits, each of them I added 1 Kilogram of sugar (corn sugar) and they all tasted kinda nasty. I am sure there was no infection incidentally as I really sanatise well.
Could I add 1 Kilogram of DME instead of cornsugar and would it remotely enhanse the taste?
Would the alcohol level be higher or lower or the same?
Would it take longer to ferment than corn sugar?

Any help would be appreciated
Colm

2.2 lbs of corn sugar?

EWW!

*Posted mostly to give the non metric literates reference...

It will make your beer taste better! It should ferment at about the same rate as sugar and I think you will be happy with the results.

Oh sorry, Yeah 2.2lbs is equal to 1 Kilogram.
Was I not supposed to be using corn sugar?...OMG, YIKES
All thats in the beermaking PART of the store is Coopers kits, wine making stuff. Corn sugar and DME

That much sugar tends to make beer taste cidery or as you put it, kind of nasty. DME is a much better solution. There is a lot of bad instructions out there and I think you got some.

colm98 - Welcome to homebrewing and this forum.
I use belguim candy sugar if required, otherwise all sugar is replaced by DME/LME/More grain or honey.
Sugar does really add a flavor I hate, if I really need to bump up the OG I use a light honey. Downside of honey is an extended fermentation time and a much lighter taste that can throw off the bitterness and flavor of the hops.
For a rich beer, use DME, as a straight replacement use LME, use honey if you want some really unique beers.
Just look up and understand the gravity differences of LME, DME and honey to hit your target OG.