Anyone have experience

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sww35

Reaction score
Does anyone have experience in retaining some beer from a previous brew and adding it to a boiling wort of a new brew process? If so, could you share some of the process, results and flavors?

What would be the advantage of doing this?

I'm no expert, but it seems if you added already finished beer to boiling wert, it would be downhill from there as the flavor of the added beer would be lost to the heat and boiling...In other words, waste of good beer.

It does nothing. The only way it will make a difference is if you use large amount, for example on one occasion someone made a beer and mashed with beer - they used hot beer for mash and sparge water. And if I remember correctly, it tasted like booty.

I am not sure of the advantage flavor wise. Just was a thought. However, perhaps a reduction of a dark malty beer as a syrup type addition could be a nice idea?

Dude do not boil your beer if you are not cooking with it

A reduction would bring the beer down to a higher concentration and make it thicker like a syrup. I think it would be a better idea then a boil off. Then add it to a boiling wort like an extract almost. A porter beer reduction extract.

Anyone have experience with this?

sww35 said:
A reduction would bring the beer down to a higher concentration and make it thicker like a syrup. I think it would be a better idea then a boil off. Then add it to a boiling wort like an extract almost. A porter beer reduction extract.

Anyone have experience with this?