Air card and wireless laptop questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NJTomatoguy

Reaction score
I am looking at getting away from comcast. I live in a heavily populated area,
near Philadelphia pa, and am looking to go completely wireless.
Does anyone have any experience with the air card type services?

I work in the industry, and everyone says they work great, provided you get unlimited minutes. You can also tether Blackberrys and other smart phones, which apparently works well too. Latency can be high though, so if you play Warcraft or anything you might want to check into it.

The connection will certainly not come close to true broadband and at least with Verizon you only get 5GB's per month. Over that and they charge the hell out of you. They are great on the road but I would not want to use it to replace a land based internet connection. Can you get Verizon DSL or FIOS? I know that quite a bit of delaware has been wired for FIOS but I dont know about the land across the bridge.

The connection will certainly not come close to true broadband and at least with Verizon you only get 5GB's per month. Over that and they charge the hell out of you. They are great on the road but I would not want to use it to replace a land based internet connection. Can you get Verizon DSL or FIOS? I know that quite a bit of delaware has been wired for FIOS but I dont know about the land across the bridge.

I figured they would find a way to "charge the hell out of you", but only went as far as looking at the plans on the site. They want a 2 yr committment on something that may not work for what I need it to do.
Fios is not available here, yet.

DSL is available here.