Adjusting (increasing) bitterness after primary fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bosium

Reaction score
OK, please bear with me, this is a bit of a read. I recently brewed a belgian blonde ale, a recipe I've been trying to perfect since I started brewing. It's a simple recipe, relying on the belgian yeast strain I chose for the esters and phenolics characteristic of belgian ales. It was meant as a 'clone' of De Koninck Blonde, if anyone here has had that. I mean the blonde ale, not the De Koninck pale ale (Bolleke), in case you were wondering. Recipe is below for those interested.

Now with a bit of tweaking using the pre-boil gravity, I managed to hit my numbers pretty much perfectly. I had a fast start to fermentation which actually went crazy over the 8 or so days of primary, enough to make me need a blow-off tube on a half-full 6 gal better-bottle. Never seen krausen go that crazy, but then I've always done my belgians in buckets up until now.

Fermentation has pretty much died down completely now by day 11, so I drew a sample and hey-presto, I hit my FG on the button. I tasted the sample, however, and found it not to be as bitter as I'd like to counteract the sweetness. I went back to beer smith and realised that my hop additions were specified as 'plugs' (whatever they are) and not leaf, like I used. This brought my total calculated IBU down from 25.1 to 22.2. It tastes even less than that to be honest, but the end result is the same: I would like to add some extra bitterness.