WY1318 Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

marjen

Reaction score
I am looking for some feedback from people on their experience with WY1318. I have been using this strain as my goto strain pretty much since I started brewing back in March. I have used in for 15 five gallon batches of beer so far. I make NE IPAs using the BIAB method.

I have used several different fermenters so far. I started with carboys. I started looking for a better solution as I found this strain would consistently blow the top off the fermenter a make a mess nearly every time. I did however have pretty consistent beers when using these, though that may be do to other reasons as I will state below.

Next I tried 30L Spidels. Now these gave plenty of headspace, but I had constant issue trying to transfer out as the style of beers I am making have a lot of dry hop trub and I struggled even with a rotating racking arm to be able to get the beer out of the fermenters. I also did not like not being able to see what was happening. I never had a good batch in 4 attempts come out of these. The beer never seemed to clear and all 4 batches were so horrible they had to be dumped.