Quick Temperature Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

buhay

Reaction score
I have made many batches of beer and am making my first wine kit. It's a Merlot. The kit says to keep it between 20-25C (68-77F). I noticed my room has been more like 18-19C. Is that gonna be an issue? It seems to be fermenting fine. I just really know nothing about temperature importance with wine.

Thanks for any tips. Also it is in day 3 of primary.

Also it's a 40 day wine kit from Costco. Vino Europa. I don't know if that matters.

I am fairly new to wine making but I am quite confident that you will have no problem with those temps! Just try to make sure the temp doesn't go lower than this.

Let us know how it goes!

Also it's a 40 day wine kit from Costco. Vino Europa. I don't know if that matters.

So to follow up C JJ Berry states in his book the following for the first fermentation stage:

"The jar is then best kept at a temperature of 60-65 deg. F. until fermentation is finished."

I've been fermenting my apple wine in much warmer temps than this. 25 is average around here and in summer it was reaching 26 or 27 in here. because I've been doing one gallon batches I wasn't worried about it. But I did notice my first batch was a bit like rocket fuel! So I do see how temperature control does play a role especially with larger batches.

I have made many batches of beer and am making my first wine kit. It's a Merlot. The kit says to keep it between 20-25C (68-77F). I noticed my room has been more like 18-19C. Is that gonna be an issue? It seems to be fermenting fine. I just really know nothing about temperature importance with wine.

Thanks for any tips. Also it is in day 3 of primary.