Intro & query

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

whartonski

Reaction score
So I've been making hard cider from supermarket juice for about 3 years pretty successfully. Use apple juice as a base and generally add about 1/4 of something else for interest. Pineapple juice was a favourite for a sour edge until my local supermarket stopped selling the 100% stuff. Now I use 100% raspberry juice which gives a pleasing tartness. Always add a thumb of grated ginger. Worst one was meadowsweet, which was a bit of a let down but forced myself to drink; best one was syrup from locally harvested wild cherries.

So to the point - the biggest variable is fizz off secondary ferment. I don't measure anything so each batch is different, but loosely speaking I use 3/4 gallon of pure apple juice, a good glug of something exotic, about 1/2 LB of granulated sugar and whatever yeast is leftover from previous racking; I then ferment until it stops popping - usually 3 - 4 weeks; rack and clear with finings for about a week then bottle. I have arrived at a recipe where I use 5 level desert spoons of sugar for the secondary ferment, added to a strong tea brew. Usually this is great after about 3/4 weeks ferment, settle & clear; but sometimes it is dead & sometimes over-primed which makes the sediment lift and kind of spoils it (I do try to get my cider as clear as possible). This is even off the same batch where the priming sugar was added in big container, mixed well & evenly distributed. So the only variable I can see is the amount of air left at the top of the bottle.