Hot Side Aeration

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lilburgh

Reaction score
I've been brewing for almost 3 years now. I started brewing with some friends who have been brewing for little awhile as well. During our brew days, which usually take place outside in one of our garages/driveways, we usually brew about 6-7 batches totaling 50+ gallons of various beers. We have made some really good beers, won some awards, and until recently, never dumped a batch of beer due to taste.

On Brew Days we like to pick and pull from each others self-perfected processes to try and improve our overall brew day efficiency. One of our biggest improvements has been our chilling process. Our initial chilling process was simply inserting a sanitized immersion chiller into the hot kettle and running tap water till wort is as low as tap water will allow. We then upgraded our process to draining 5 gallons of hot wort from the kettle into a food grade 6-7 gallon sanitized bucket, inserting immersion chiller and running tap water while at the same time vigorously running a sanitized paint stirrer in the wort using a cordless drill. When we started this process during the winter months we were able to chill wort to 70F in around 5 minutes depending on tap water temp. The summer months take about 10 minutes.