Foam Issues - What Am I doing wrong?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cjs555

Reaction score
Long time reader, first time posting

Ok, to start with, this is an ongoing issue and as I've tried to work through it I've probably read through every posting online related to keg foam issues, pressure issues, keg balancing, etc. I've been brewing for about 2 years, just bought my first keg setup back in December. Since then I've had 6 batches of beer in the keg with varying results, but the consistent issue I've had with every batch has been excessive amounts of foam. In all this time (and through almost 20 gallons of beer) I've had maybe 2-3 decent pours out of the keg.

The Details

The keg is a 3 gallon AMCYL type with ball-lock posts. I have a 5lb CO2 tank with a Taprite Dual-Gauge regulator mounted to it and high quality SS fittings at the connection to the disconnect. Disconnects are both the plastic type, not sure if there is a better variety. On the beverage side I've currently got 10' of 3/16 ID beverage tubing to a cobra tap. The whole setup currently sits in a high quality JennAir Refridgerator with a built in thermostat set to 33F. In a previous apartment I had the keg in a crappy old fridge (and assumed lack of consistent temps contributed to foaming) but diligently tried multiple temperature settings from 31F-37F with fairly consistent (read: foamy) results. These temps were measured in fridge with a wine thermometer in a glass of water. I've also tried my digital thermometer and now have a thermometer with a digital reading in the fridge.