Wine flat with no aroma after 6 months??????

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark Kissel

Twisty Road Vineyards
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have been making wine in the kit form for about 7 months. Mostly all dry reds. Some are great while some, have now have lost a great deal of flavor and aroma after aging for 5-6 months. The only thing I can come up with is too much exposure to air in the process. This I attribute to open fermentation with wines kits with skins. I think I waited too long after primary to rack off and put in a sealed carboy. When these were put into bottles however, they tasted great, lovely aromas and flavor only to be very flat 6 months later. I have just ordered a kit to check the amount of free SO2 to adjust the amount of K-meta prior to bottling. Anyone experience this and thoughts on what might cause this issue?
Thanks, I have learned much from reading this forum, but always more to learn.

Mark