Why is my brew so hoppy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AcesHigh1919

Reaction score
I am new to brewing and am wondering why my batches are coming out so hoppy? It's like chewing on a hop. I have the following

10lbs of 2 row
1lb of Munich type 1
1lb of caramel 60l

30mins 1.25oz of Columbus hops
5 mins 1 oz of Cascade hops

I left to ferment for 2 weeks and it tastes like chewing on a hop. Brewfather said it should be in the low 50s for IBU. That shouldn't be that bad. Any help???

Well, don't dispare! You're beer isn't a drain pour! If you let it age, the hop character will lower. The longer you let it age, the more it drops. Try it again in a month or two. Or give it more.

Your recipe has an extremely hoppy balance. If you want it balanced, I suggest lowering your calculated IBUs down to 25. If you want it malty, do 15-20. And if you want it pleasantly hoppy shoot for 30-35.

I am new to brewing and am wondering why my batches are coming out so hoppy? It's like chewing on a hop. I have the following
Maybe you could elaborate on what you define as "hoppy"?
  • Is the beer overly bitter? If so, then maybe you are adding too much bittering hops. You could also shift hops into a flameout or steep addition. (or dry hops)
  • Does it have an astringency? Or maybe a grassy character? This can just be from hops still in suspension. This will fade with time. I would not just much from a 2 week old sample.
  • Does it have too much hop flavors (citrus, pine, resin, etc.)? I probably would not expect this based on your hop usage.
I use Columbus often. I find it gives a desirable "hoppy" character to American IPAs and Pale Ales, but I usually lean on other hops (Citra, Simcoe, Centennial, etc.) for hop flavors and aroma.