where is the yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ironedge

Reaction score
this is my first attempt at capturing a Yorkshire Ale yeast for re-use. I basically have a peanut butter looking slurry, been in the fridge since Sunday, and I don't see any definitive separation that shows the white of the yeast that everyone has been talking about. Any ideas?

My process was adding boiled and then cooled water, 3 pint jars worth, to the primary, swirling around and then pouring into 4 pint and 1 quart jar.

thanks

IMG_0363.jpg

I haven't washed yeast in quite a few years, but I believe the procedure is to add your water to the fermenter, swirl, pour out into a large jar, let it sit for 20-30 minutes, then pour the liquid into another jar, let it settle for another 20-30 minutes, then pour the liquid into smaller jars. The idea being that the yeast is suspended in the liquid and you're only letting it settle long enough for most of the non-yeast solids to settle out before decanting the yeasty liquid.

That very thin layer of white at the very top is yeast. There is also yeast mixed in the peanut butter colored layer below it.

The good news is that none of that is necessary. If you can make a starter, use some of the slurry you have in your jars (one jar's worth would be plenty) and make a starter with it. If starters aren't your thing yet, then decant the liquid from the jars and combine the slurry in all the jars. You can then direct-pitch the slurry into a new batch of wort.