What kind of beer did I just make?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

omazing

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a rookie brewer. I live in a dry country so access to ingredients is limited.

I made this 5G batche and I don't know what type of beer it is. here are the details:

6 lb Briess Golden Light DME + 1lb Pilsen German grain + SafBrew T-58 yeast + Irish Moss +11oz hallertau millerfruh hops

Hello everyone,
I'm also a rookie and I have a similar question that omazing made. I searched online and it looks like some kind of Hefeweizen, I also used Brewer's Friend online calculator but there wasn't any match.

Here's what I used for a 6L batch using:

1021g grain BIAB (90 min)
- 500g Pilsner (49%)
- 320g Wheat (31.3%)
- 201g Abbey (19.7%)

90 min boil
1.41h Challenger Hops | 8.5% (added at 15min)
4.25g Magnum Hops | 15.5% (added at 60min)

11.5g Fermentis Safbrew Safale S33 - yeast starter (abbey malt) at 20ºC

Thanks in andvance!

Hefeweizen? That's a German style.

No, I take issue with that.
I'd have to say the yeast is the primary ingredient that influences flavors determined by your grain bill. Hop choice matters. too.
I believe S-33 is a Belgian strain and you have a wheat beer, but a hefeweizen (in my opinion) needs a German yeast strain - and if you're a purist at heart - imported German grain with noble hops.

Last edited:
Hi Lefou, thanks for your reply!
It was just out of curiosity, since i reused someone else's ingredients and I didn't follow any specific recipe.

And yes, you are right. I guess "Belgian Witbier" it's more accurate (but i didn't used coriander seeds and orange peel).
Maybe i'll just say it's a "wheat beer" :)

S-33 is an English ale yeast, mislabeled as Belgian (I think because it has a high alcohol tolerance)