What German Beers to try

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BesteBrew

Reaction score
So i am going to a German Beer Hall in Philadelphia called Brauhaus Schmitz. I have been brewing for about 7 months and have been slowly discovering the awsomeness of good beer but havnt really ventured into imported beers yet. I have included the link to the beer menu. Can anyone suggest some beers for me?

http://www.brauhausschmitz.com/beer/

Tucher Helles Hefe Weizen is on my short list

If any of the drafts actually come from Germany I would start there.

Aventinus
Spaten Oktoberfest
Paulaner Salvator

I have had all three and they are good beers. If I was going myself I would do what dkmount721 said and roll thru the draft beers.

From my trips to Germany, my favorite became Augustiner. So much so that once I got back to the states I rushed out to find some. Unfortunately, a good many of the really good German beers don't take the boat ride so well it seems... Still good, but not sitting at a cafe in Munich good.

Tucher Helles Hefe Weizen is on my short list

If any of the drafts actually come from Germany I would start there.

Tucher is actually my least favorite German beer ever made. I don't feel like it's a good example of what a Weizen should be. But, hey, if I don't drink it, more for you then!

Anyway, Ayinger Marzen-Oktoberfest is by far my favorite German beer. I would obviously start there, but it looks like they don't have it online, so I'll move on.

Franziskaner Dunkel
Ayinger Jahrhundert
Spaten Oktoberfest <-not as good as the Ayinger, but still solid.
Weihenstephaner Original <-oldest beer from the world oldest brewery still open. Great beer.

I would try Weihenstephan 1809 Berliner just out of curiosity since I can never find it in stores.