What do you think of this Irish Red???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Patch62383

Reaction score
I am new to brewing I have 4 batches under my belt. I am wanting to make an Irish red but I am going out on a limb here and want to experiment with my own creation. Like I said I am guess here after reading and looking up multiple recipes tell me if you think this would be a good beer.

7 Lbs of LME-Light
1 Lbs of DME-Light
Steeping Grains
Crystal Malt 120- 10.00 oz
Biscuit Malt- 6.00 0z
Roasted Barley- 4.00 oz

Hops
Goldings 1 oz at 60 mins
Willamatte .5 oz at 45 mins
Willamatte .5 oz at 15 mins

Yeast Irish Ale Yeast/ Liquid + starter
I am using Brew Target to keep everything within Range of the style according to the program. Like I said I am just guessing but any input would be helpful. Thanks everyone

This is a good start. I have just a few suggestions.

*There usually isn't a reason for a 45 minute hop addition. Either you are using it for bittering, in which case you'd do 60 minutes to get more efficient usage, or you're using it for flavor (30-15 minutes) or aroma (15-end). Moreover, Irish red doesn't usually have much hop flavor, and it has very little hop aroma. So I'd do maybe 1/2 an oz of Willamette at 30, and nothing else--if you're brewing to the traditional style, which you don't have to do.

*Any particular reason you have both LME and DME there? is it just what you have on hand or can find easily? You'd be fine using just one or the other.